Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 339

    Great Barrier Reef...Fishing?

    May 8, 2019 ⋅ ⛅ 77 °F

    Well, my bad luck from yesterday morning didn't end with the debit card. That afternoon the snorkel charter emailed me that my GBR snorkel trip was cancelled for lack of participation. Aarrgghhh. I had them rebook me for Thursday, but the weren't hopeful that would go either. They said not to worry if it cancelled though, because they would refund my money. To my debit card. Aarrgghhh. When I explained about the card no longer working, they said I would have to work out the refund with the booking agency. In Auckland, New Zealand. Aarrgghhh. I hope the trip goes on Thursday, as much to see the reef as to finish this maddening endless loop of aarrgghhhs.

    After that conversation, I threw up my hands and headed into town for food and groceries where I ran into Richard and Christine (Hashers). He booked a fishing charter for today, and I was able to get on at the last minute. [They wouldn't take cash, so I had to use my AAA emergency card again. Aarrgghhh.]

    So today we're fishing the Great Barrier Reef instead of snorkeling it. Well, at least I'm at it even though I can't see it.

    So long [for now] and thanks for all the FISH. ✌️

    P.S.: Post-Trip Update: Rich and I caught several fish between us, but not all the ones in the picture. There were 12 of us fishing. I caught 3 keepers, 1 bait fish, and a couple of small ones, and Rich got about 6-7 keepers with another dozen or so too small to keep. Here's the list of what the boat pulled in but didn't necessarily keep. The ones we caught have an asterisk.

    *Nannygai (big pink ones)
    *Coral trout (coral color with spots; smaller than nannygai; I caught one)
    *Green spotted cod (not in the picture; about same size as coral trout but green with black spots; I caught two)
    *Sweet lips (white with yellow fin; used for bait; my first catch)
    *Red emporer (first type of fish in the boat; red, no spots)
    Spanish mackerel (huge silver one in the pic; I reeled in a small one off another line)
    Gold-spotted trevally (greeny-gold in the pic)
    Cobia (not in the pic; looked just like https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cobia)
    Red bass (not in the pic; poisonous)
    Remora (not in the pic; sucker fish usually found on sharks)
    Read more