Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 340

    Great Barrier Reef...Snorkling!

    May 9, 2019 ⋅ ⛅ 77 °F

    I didn't do anything yesterday after the fishing trip. I only got about three hours of sleep the night before, so by the time I got back to the hotel, I was beat. I think I was out before 23:00.

    This morning I was out of bed at 07:00 very excited for my snorkeling trip. We left the marina around 08:30 and now we're at the first of two locations in the Agincourt reef group. This little part is dive site Your Place (technically reef #3); our second will be snorkel site Totem just to the east. (You can dive and snorkel both.)

    So long [for now] and thanks for all the FISH. ✌️

    P.S.: Post-Snorkle Update: What an amazing day on the Great Barrier Reef! These are just some of what I saw:
    Wobbegong shark
    Sting ray
    Maori wrasse
    Porcupine fish
    White-tip reef shark
    Black-tip reef shark
    GBR anemone fish with babies
    Tomato fish
    Unicorn fish
    Giant clam
    Diagonal banded sweetlips
    Sea cucumbers
    Trumpet fish
    Moorish idol
    Blackspotted puffer (aka dognose)
    Lizard fish
    Heaps of parrot fish, trigger fish, wrasses, butterfly fish, angelfish, hard corals, soft corals, grass-like macroalgae, etc.
    Read more