Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 411

    Agnes Waters

    July 19, 2019 in Australia ⋅ ☀️ 66 °F

    The 16:00 return ferry trip from Keppel was uneventful except for the smoke on the horizon (two pictures). The Aussie sitting next to me believed it to be from Talisman Sabre 2019, a Australian/US (and others) naval exercise taking place in Shoalwater Bay Training Area just north of Emu Park. I remember hearing about this while I was in the military, but never had the opportunity to participate. See more here: http://www.navy.gov.au/operations-and-exercises…. Nevertheless, we finally concluded it must be coming from the Bifield State Forest. Either way, I haven't seen anything on the news.

    We were back at the hostel around 18:00 or so, but with dinner delayed until 20:30, when the northbound Stray passengers would arrive, we just went to our rooms to clean up and rest. By 20:30, we were starving, and the small bowls of curry went down fast. It was lights out by 21:30 because of our departure at 06:00. Ugh.

    We all made the early departure and caught the train at 07:20. I jumped off at Miriam Vale, then jumped in a shuttle to Agnes Waters. Luckily, I could check in when I arrived about 10:30.

    Now, I'm finishing my book and trying to ignore the rumbling in my tummy yelling me to get some food.

    So long [for now] and thanks for all the fish. ✌️
    Read more