Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 410

    Great Keppel Island

    July 18, 2019 in Australia ⋅ ☀️ 64 °F

    After getting back to Airlie Beach yesterday, I grabbed some lunch, took a long walk all the way down the beach to the sailing club and back, and hung out at the hostel with a book until our bus came at a little after 17:00.

    By about 18:15 we were back on the southbound train headed for Rockhampton Station. We arrived at 01:00 after a very uncomfortable trip. If you have two seats in the train, you're very lucky. I only had one next to another Stray journeyer, and despite the ample leg room, there was no way to get the back of your legs off the edge of the seat. Trying to keep my ankles from swelling, I got about an hour of rest on the floor behind the last seat before a conductor kicked me awake, then spent the remainder of the ride in the dining car with my book. Ugh. We got a Stray van ride to the hostel in Emu Park arriving around 01:45, and I finally got to sleep somewhere around 03:30.

    We were up this morning before 08:00 for brekky and headed by van to the Keppel Ferry to the big island for the day. I kayaked with three others while the other three paddle boarded. Now they've taken off to the other side of the island to snorkel, but I'm really weary with one of the girls, so I'm staying in the shade at the restaurant with a cold cider and a book. Really nice day so far.

    So long [for now] and thanks for all the fish. ✌️
    Read more