Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 413

    On to Rainbow Beach

    July 21, 2019 in Australia ⋅ ☀️ 70 °F

    Wow! Yesterday's walk was really long! The stroll up the beach took about an hour and a half. At the end of the beach were cliffs, but there was a tiny path leasing up and around. I popped out at the top of the cliffs by some stunning vacation homes near the lookout point. I went a little way down the bluff to hop on the walking path, which then took me back up. I wound up adding an extra kilometer to the day, but it didn't make much difference.

    After making it to the top, I went back down the walking path to the Captain Cook memorial marking the site at which he landed on 24 May 1770. The cairn was pretty cool.

    By this time it was about 14:00, and I was starving and out of water, so I continued following the path into the tiny Town until I found an open cafe. A quick bite of duck spring rolls (yum!) and a water bottle refill (with ice courtesy of the nice bartender), then I was off again for the walk back to Agnes Water.

    I got back to the hostel about 17:00 after about 7.5 miles/12-13 kilometers. Whew! I cleaned up, mostly packed, made dinner, and chilled with a book the rest of the evening.

    I was out of bed a little before 07:00 to have brekky and finish packing. The shuttle picked me up at 08:00 and dropped me at the Miriam Vale station for my 09:00 train. The driver and owner of the shuttle company bought me a coffee before dropping me off as thanks for spurring her to rent a caravan and tour around New Zealand with her husband and 14-year-old son this coming summer. I hope they make it.

    Now, I'm on the train with a few Stray folks, three of which I met before, and we're heading for Rainbow Beach. Fraser Island, here I come!

    So long [for now] and thanks for all the fish. ✌️
    Read more