Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 414

    K'gari Island (a.k.a. Fraser)

    July 22, 2019 in Australia ⋅ ☁️ 68 °F

    After arriving in Rainbow Beach yesterday, I took a walk on the beach then visited the Surf Life Saving Club for a couple of beers. Then it was back to the hostel where I ran into the three other Stray journeyers. We went across the street to the Rainbow Beach Hotel for another couple of drinks, but we were back at the hostel before 21:30. A quick shower, then off to bed.

    My first contact with the morning world was a desperate email from my tour guide Troy. He couldn't find me...in Noosa. I called him to explain that I was in Rainbow Beach, about an hour and a half drive north of him.

    Anyway, Troy collected me and some others around 10:00, and the 29 of us were off in four Landcruisers! Just a few minutes up the coast we came to the ferry. While waiting for the boat we spotted Australasian humpback dolphins, which live in estuarine areas.

    We crossed over to a magical land of salt, surf, and sand. K'gari is the world's largest sand island. There is no soil. We began our 4-wheel drive trek up 75-Mile Beach, disturbing several flocks of crested terns.

    We've just stopped to switch drivers in the other three vehicles (we drive ourselves). I'm in the lead truck with Troy. Yay!

    So long [for now] and thanks for all the fish. ✌️
    Read more