Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 433

    Kelso

    August 10, 2019 in Scotland ⋅ 🌧 61 °F

    I got into Edinburgh without issue and took the bus to my friend's village of South Queensferry.

    After getting settled in, Helen and I walked down the hill to the town center. The picture of the bridges are from the main Street. Her house is between the two bridges on the left. We had a fantastic meal of White Pudding Supper with chips and brown sauce for me and fish and chips for her. I've been waiting so very long to have white pudding again. See here for more about it: https://g.co/kgs/HTDt7F. Yummy!!!

    We took the bus back up to her house (a whole two stops but worth avoiding the hill). Once we finished a tiny wee dram--the Doric word is thochty--I was off to bed.

    I slept about 5 hours straight before waking, but I was able to get back to sleep for another couple, so it was a really good rest. We were both up before 07:00 and already working around the house, such as setting up more beds for more guests and doing laundry.

    Now, we're having a light lunch (tomato soup) at a hotel in Kelso. We've come here to reconnaissance the hash trail for our Red Dress Run on the 22d. Apparently I'm now in charge, so I've changed it to a pub crawl. 300 or so Hashers all in red dresses--and I mean all--making their way through the village center while hitting four pubs along the way. What could possibly go wrong? LOL!

    So long [for now] and thanks for all the fish. ✌️
    Read more