Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 6

    80-mile detour

    August 6, 2020 in the United States ⋅ ☀️ 79 °F

    Yesterday afternoon, I made it to two more dealerships before checking into the hotel. Aaah. Hot tub and pool. Just what I needed. I'm spending far too much on hotels, but I'm camping for the next two weeks on a sleeping pad with one inch of air between me and the ground, so yes, worth it.

    Did I tell you that I have seen deer every day so far, a lot of them and many of them very close up? I have seen so many that the hotel last night gave me a room with a deer caution road sign printed next to the room number. Seriously! I forgot to take a picture, but every room had some sort of roadside picture: trees, lakes, bridges...but I had the deer sign. Of course I did.

    Back to yesterday, though. It was cloudy skies all day, but I didn't hit any rain until the last couple of hours. Just sprinkles, but enough for me to put on the rain jacket, which means I didn't need it after all. (If you ride, you know.)

    But despite the overcast, I saw magnificent wildlife...and yes, deer. I didn't know South Dakota had so many lakes/ponds, so the bird life is incredible. Storks (look like pelicans but fresh water?), cormorants (I think), hawks, doves, ducks, quail, and geese. I even saw a little chipmunk standing up and munching on something on the verge. What were the cartoon ones called? Anyway, it's wonderful to see so much life, even when you pass the dead skunks. I try to hold my breath when I see those coming, but it's usually too late.

    After a false fire alarm at 01:30 that kept me awake for those next couple of hours, I left the hotel at 08:30 this morning in 55°F/12°C (WTF?!) weather. At 09:00 I hit clouds sitting on the ground. Fog...30 miles of very cold, very wet fog. And on a partially graveled road. Behind a semi truck. I stopped early on to put on my rain jacket, but waited to put on the rain gloves. Of course, my gloves didn't even get wet.

    Today's noon selfie was just past a little town called McLaughlin, which is my sister-in-law's maiden name. Hi, Katie!!! But the reason I am here is because almost every Reservation is closed to out-of-state vehicles. Fifteen miles in, I hit a road block. After they took my name and license plate number, I was refused entry. I backtracked those 15 miles to head north for 25 miles where I am now. I'll head back west then south for another 25 miles to get back on my route. 80 miles added to the trip today. Yuck.

    Better news! The other picture attached is my RV storage building that is coming along beautifully!

    I'll be in Sturgis this evening!

    That's all for now. Don't forget to be awesome! ✌️

    Day 5: 324.6 (total 1528.0)
    Read more