Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 5

    South Dakota!

    August 5, 2020 in the United States ⋅ ⛅ 64 °F

    I took advantage of a full day in Sioux City to get a haircut and walk around downtown. The Woodbury County Courthouse was very impressive. Opened in 1918, it is now a National Historical Landmark for its Prairie School architecture (https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Woodbury_County…).

    I went back to the Hard Rock to try my luck at Craps and lost $40. I played for a while though, and it was interesting relearning how to bet. I haven't played for over 10 years. There were two guys playing with several thousand dollars. Not for me. So, back to the room for the rest of my pizza and couple of movies.

    I had a nice omelette at IHOP this morning and hit the road at 08:45. I wound my way north in Iowa for an hour before crossing into South Dakota.

    The Sioux Falls dealership had a sign set up and when I pulled in front of it, a nice woman rider took my photo.

    Not much else to say about the ride today except that I feel very alone in these roads, which is fine by me. I haven't caught or been caught by any cars going my way and have only seen a handful traveling the other direction. Fantastic.

    That's all for now. Don't forget to be awesome! ✌️

    Day 4 mileage: 12 (total 1203.4)
    Read more