Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 5

    On Through Mississippi

    March 24, 2021 in the United States ⋅ ⛅ 66 °F

    Yesterday, I hit a second dealership in Louisiana, then beelined to Mississippi. I spent the night at a dump of a Motel 6, but it was cheap and no one messed with the bike overnight.

    Last night after cleaning the bike (don't freak, Dano, it was just the windshield🤣), I walked to the corner Circle K gas station to grab a salad for dinner. As I was walking, I saw through the trees what looked like a monument of some sort, like one you would see in a cemetery. Turns out, I was right next to the Vicksburg National Battlefield. So, this morning, I drove through the park.

    The weather was a little gloomy, giving the dewy grass and rolling hills an appropriate aura for a place where almost 20,000 men bloodied themselves for their side of the Civil War. I was so thankful that nothing seemed to have fallen prey to the current trend of defacing or destroying Civil War history. It shouldn't celebrated, but it certainly should be remembered.

    After that, I jumped on I-20 again and hit two Mississippi HDs in Jackson and Meridian. I've stopped at Chili's in Meridian to warm up (the wind chill is nasty today) and eat. Coffee is a welcome lunchmate today. The interstate is soooo boring.

    So long [for now], and thanks for all the fish! ✌️

    Days 1-4 mileage: 673.9 (total 673.9)
    HD Dealership Challenge: 3 (total 4)
    Read more