Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 6

    Across Alabama

    March 25, 2021 in the United States ⋅ ⛅ 75 °F

    After yesterday's long lunch to warm up, I walked outside to find the weather completely changed. The sun had come out and it was quite warm. Nice!

    A little more of I-20, then I slowed down a bit to take US-80 across Alabama. I stopped briefly in Selma at the small Civil Rights Memorial Park at the base of the Pettus Bridge, a landmark in its own right. [More info: https://www.history.com/news/selma-bloody-sunda…]

    After hitting the Montgomery HD, I crashed at a Days Inn. I walked across Eastern Boulevard (yikes!) to eat at what I thought was a steakhouse but what turned into a seafood/barbeque place. With very loud R&B karaoke. 🤣 I ate and left before the place really got going, but it was only 19:00 and filling up fast. The food was really good! Yay to fried green tomatoes!

    Another storm rolled through last night, but I was able to park the bike in a slightly sheltered area and keep it covered, so I didn't have any issues rolling out this morning at 07:45. It was a bit chilly and the roads were still wet, so on went the rain gear...until 09:00 when I couldn't take it anymore. But by then, the roads had cleared and the sun was coming out.

    Now I'm East of Dothan after hitting that HD and making my way to Georgia.

    So long [for now], and thanks for all the fish! ✌️

    Day 5 mileage: 337.9 (total 1011.8)
    HD Dealership Challenge: 2 (total 6)
    Read more