Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 10

    Back to the Buoy

    March 29, 2021 in the United States ⋅ ⛅ 84 °F

    After a gross McDonald's lunch yesterday, I was on my way to Key West. Very. Very. Slowly. Because of traffic, my GPS said it would take me 8 hours to go 120 miles 😱. It was bumper to bumper dead stop for 16 miles 😱. This is my third time to ride/drive to Key West. I am taking the ferry from now on.

    Anyway, I was able to ride down the shoulder to cut through much of the back up, so I made it in just 3 hours.

    I arrived at my friends' home at 17:00, but they weren't there yet, so I walked to the corner place for some dinner. Yummy mac & cheese with broccoli and grilled shrimp 😋.

    I took my leftovers back to their place and dumped my stuff in their guestroom. By that time another friend had showed up to drive us over to their sailboat race award ceremony. But this is Key West, people. Although all the sailing teams were at the restaurant (bar), and they had a video of highlights from the "race," no one ever made any announcements, so we left around 21:00.

    After a little of my friend's birthday cake, I said so good to see you, thanks, and see you later to everyone...because I would leave before anyone else got up 🤣. I was passed out by 22:00.

    I wanted to get an early start to miss traffic (HA!), so I was up at 06:00 and rolling at 07:00. I figured I would be the only one at the buoy that early (it was still dark!), but I was second in line with a couple of bikers behind me 🤣.

    I didn't miss traffic, but it wasn't dead stop either, so I made pretty good time for that stretch of road. I hit a little rain that slowed things down, but nothing like yesterday's nightmare.

    Now, I'm crossing through the Florida Everglades. There is so much wildlife to be seen just from the road! Here are some images I wish I got on film:
    - A cormorant perched on a log drying his wings in the sun
    - A great egret slowly wading through the shallows hunting for the next meal
    - A massive turtle sunning himself in the middle of the road (I really hope he didn't get squished.)
    - A great blue heron tossing a fish around on the bank so he could swallow it head first
    - A partially submerged alligator floating in his territory oblivious of a motorcycle idling nearby (my selfie buddy)

    So long [for now], and thanks for all the fish [and birds and reptiles]! ✌️

    Day 9 mileage: 409.3 (total 2124.8)
    HD Dealership Challenge: 3 (total 22)
    50 Rides, 1 Nation: 1 (total 1)

    P.S.: Did you know there are only two everglades in the world? The other is in Noosa, Australia.

    More info:
    1) https://fcit.usf.edu/florida/lessons/everglades…

    2) https://www.kanukapersaustralia.com/what-is-the…
    Read more