Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 30

    Crude, Corn, Cattle...& Camels?

    April 18, 2021 in the United States ⋅ ⛅ 59 °F

    After San Jacinto, I continued south then west to two more Tour stops (anchor and boat). I stopped for the night at a hotel with a bath tub because today has been the third (fourth? fifth? 😩) day in a row of cloudy, sprinkly, and chilly weather. I'm cold, damp, and tired.

    A hot soak was just what I needed. Although today is the same weather, at least I feel warmer. I've continued to hug the Gulf Coast, stopping in Indianola to see the LaSalle monument Tour stop, where I stumbled across another odd piece of Texas history concerning camels 🐪. What?!

    Ever since leaving Houston, all the landscape I've seen has been either crude, corn, or cate. The oil refineries are so massive that they look like small cities poking up above the horizon. The corn is rarely above two feet tall and doesn't appear to have taken any damage from the February freeze. The cows are surrounded by calves, from days or even hours old to almost weaned. The land is very flat except where bridges rise over the bayous and bays to allow boats to pass beneath, but it is quite beautiful nonetheless. At one point, I felt as if I was underwater. The clouds were constant and gently striated, as if I were looking up at the surface of the ocean just after waves broke overhead.

    So long [for now], and thanks for all the 🐫! ✌️

    Day 29 mileage: 280.8 (total 6326.6)
    HD Dealership Challenge: 1 (total 72)
    MCGTTX Stops: 3 (total 15)
    Read more