Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 31

    Southernmost Point

    April 19, 2021 in the United States ⋅ ☁️ 64 °F

    Yesterday I continued my way around the Gulf Coast to Brownsville and then to the southernmost road I could find, in South Point, TX, aptly named Southmost Road. Then it was a quick pic at the HD and into the hotel. A 15-minute walk to Chipotle sorted me for dinner and breakfast. Very nice to stretch my legs.

    After a night of noisy neighbors with screaming kids, I was rolling by 09:00. My first stop was the HD in McAllen. A service tech came out to take my picture. People are always surprised at the mods I've done to my Street Bob and that I'm taking such a long trip on it. And that I'm a woman traveling solo. He took a pic of me on his own phone so he could show his friends 🤣.

    I followed the Rio Grande from McAllen towards Laredo. It was a very dusty ride surrounded by prickly pear cactus in full bloom. Beautiful! But I had to keep the speed down to five over the limit. I think every State Trooper was on that road. I saw at least 30 Staties, Police, and Sheriff vehicles just between McAllen and Zapata (less than 100 miles). In addition to the officers, I also saw five or six aerostats overhead. We used these in Iraq and Afghanistan as well. (More info: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Aerostat)

    I'm stopped now just outside Laredo, which is going to be much larger than I imagined. I just realized this is where Interstate 35 begins, the North American trade corridor. Which means semis on every road north ☹️.

    I have a preconception of Laredo from the song The Streets of Laredo that I learned as a kid from my father, but I doubt it will be anything like I imagine, and probably never was.

    So long [for now], and thanks for all the BLOOMING CACTUS! ✌️

    Day 30 mileage: 407.8 (total 6734.4)
    HD Dealership Challenge: 2 (total 74)

    P.S.: I googled the song's origins. Here's how the guy originally died 😳🤢🤣: https://texashillcountry.com/50330-2/
    Read more