Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 32

    Luckenbach, Texas

    April 20, 2021 in the United States ⋅ ☀️ 72 °F

    So, Laredo was quite large and had only a small historic area--nothing like Streets of Laredo song of course--and despite wanting to spend a little time there, the two museums in the historic houses were closed. So, I had lunch at a small chain restaurant, Danny's, and continued on to San Antonio.

    Ugh. I have now ridden the start of I-35 in the US. Never again. I love motorcycle slalom, but not with semis at high speed. Prediction: self-drive cars will get their own roads, and those of us who love to drive/ride will still have to contend with the trucks. The trucks have always needed their own roads.

    Anyway, after 150 miles of I-35, I made it to my hotel on the Riverwalk. I didn't opt for the Riverwalk view, but my aircon wasn't working, so they upgraded me for free. Yay!!

    I hung out on the Riverwalk last evening, but the I-35 ride wiped me out, so I was early to bed.

    I got up this morning and decided to ride to a few stops on the Texas Tour and knock out Texas's 10 Rides for 2021 photo. The cops were really cool and let me take a quick selfie in a no stopping zone.

    Now I'm at a place I've always wanted to visit: Luckenbach, Texas. No Waylon, Willie, or The Boys at the moment, but what a chill little place. I'd love to be there on a weekend with the bands. Man, how cool that would be.

    So long [for now], and thanks for all the fish! ✌️

    Day 31 mileage: 374.9 (total 7109.3)
    HD Dealership Challenge: 2 (total 76)
    10 Rides for 2021: 1 (total 2)
    MCGTTX Stops: 4 (total 19)
    Read more