Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 54

    US 191 & Apache National Forest

    May 12, 2021 in the United States ⋅ ☀️ 68 °F

    I had my front tire changed yesterday as planned, but they discovered I had very little front brake pad left, so they changed those, too. Thank goodness I have ABS because I can stop on a dime now.

    I decided to keep going from El Paso and spent the night in Las Cruces at the Big Chili Inn 🤣. It was a very inexpensive place and the aircon didn't work, but I couldn't resist staying there. Also, I had a beautiful sunset view from my door 😁.

    Today, I left a little before 07:00 to ride the Arizona 50 Rides route. Oh. My. God. If you ride, then you MUST do this route...with a full tank of gas. 90 miles of twisty turny with sheer drop offs and no guardrails. Unfortunately, the road is a bit rough, gravelly where the blacktop has been patched, and occasionally cambered the wrong way or not at all, so I took it pretty easy. No more than 15 over the yellow and no scraping 😉🤣. Bonus! I didn't catch a car until 83 miles in 😱! An absolute rush of a ride! And the views! I just stopped in the middle of the road to take some shots. Put this one at the top of your list!

    I'm stopped now in Apache National Forest to give my shoulders a break 🤣. This part is recovering from fire, I assume.

    So long [for now], and thanks for all the fish! ✌️

    Day 53 mileage: 505.5 (total 11855.3)
    50 Rides, 1 Nation: 1 (total 7)
    Read more