Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 56

    No Gas Next 150 Miles

    May 14, 2021 in the United States ⋅ ☀️ 75 °F

    From Monument Valley, I twisted back down into Arizona, then up into Utah again. I was staggered by the austere beauty of the landscape. Every crest of the road opened into another magnificent postcard photo. My camera didn't do it justice.

    I felt really good, so I kept going past my semi-planned overnight in Kanab, UT, and wound up on Utah Highway 14 that snaked through the Dixie National Forest. Well, it went over it more so than through it. I got a little concerned when I made the turn onto 14 because of the sign "Tire Chains Mandatory When Flashing," but the road goes on, so on I went. Besides, it's practically Summer, right? There was only a bit of snow in the shadows because, as it turns out, the summit was at 9,910 feet. 🤣 UT14 is another must ride road!

    14 ends in Cedar City where I spent the night.

    I left this morning at 07:00 heading into Nevada for its 50 Rides stop on the Extraterrestrial Highway. Although I plowed through the snow on UT14, I couldn't start my star trek without figuring out how to not run out of gas along the way. I could probably go 150 miles on one tank, but it would be at 10 miles an hour. Instead, I picked up, filled up, and saddled up a two-gallon gas can to get me to the end with a stop at Little A'le'Inn for Nevada's 50 Rides pic.

    I'm now stopped at a rest area after making 133.5 miles. The bike says I have 25 miles remaining, but I'm adding my two gallons now. I've been doing roughly 70-75 mph.

    So long [for now], and thanks for all the fish! ✌️

    Day 55 mileage: 511.6 (total 12809.7)
    50 Rides, 1 Nation: 1 (total 9)
    Read more