Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 110

    Back in New York

    July 7, 2021 in the United States ⋅ ⛅ 86 °F

    My pulled pork mac-n-cheese was deeeeelicious! And I followed it with a cup of coffee and bread pudding covered in maple syrup 😱. I needed a nap afterwards 🤣.

    The weather held until 17:00 when I, heading southwest, ran smack into a storm front moving southeast. Moving fast. The lightning was beautiful in the distance, but not so much when it was above me 😳. The road spray was the worst though. Although I put on my rain gear top, I didn't put on the bottoms, so by the time I made it to the hotel, my chaps and most of my jeans were wet. Worst of all, because I was trying to find a gas station in the storm, I missed the Harley dealership in Leominster, MA 😭. But I went 142.2 miles on that tank 😳😁.

    I made it to the hotel in Sturbridge, Massachusetts, about the time the front passed me, 18:30-ish, but I still didn't want to get out for food, so I stayed in and called it an early night.

    I woke up this morning to a gorgeous day, clear skies and sunshine. I hit the road at 07:00, and it has remained a great day through Connecticut and New York. While in Connecticut, I picked up the 50 Rides 1 Nation photo at a beautiful covered bridge. This makes 24 of the 48 I plan to hit this summer. Half way!!!

    I'm now stopped at gas station for lunch in rural New York. The nice weather has dried out my chaps and jeans, and it's gotten quite warm. It's very pretty here and thankfully they drive faster than in Maine. Wow, do Maine-iacs drive slowly, like 10 miles an hour under the very low speed limits. It's nice to feel I'm making progress again.

    So long [for now], and thanks for all the fish! ✌️

    Day 109 mileage: 463.6 (total 25272.2)
    HD Dealership Challenge: 7 (total 229)
    50 Rides, 1 Nation: 1 (total 24)
    Read more