Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 111

    Rain, Rain, Go Away

    July 8, 2021 in the United States ⋅ 🌧 73 °F

    After my lunch yesterday, I dipped into Pennsylvania for a dealership or two, then squiggled back up to Ithaca, NY, for the night. I was surprised to pass over quite a large waterfall in the Mulholland Wildflower Preserve. Check it out here: Wells Falls https://maps.app.goo.gl/6ubnTRp3iwQ5nh5h9

    I skipped my last dealership near the hotel because a big storm was rolling in on me. Again. But I made it to the hotel without getting caught.

    I had dinner across the street at Old Mexico. The shrimp ceviche was delicious. Nothing to tell about the rest of the night except the storm rolled through. It was a doozy!

    I left this morning at 06:45 with a planned 500-mile route ahead of me. The roads were very wet with lots of debris.

    I headed to Taughannock Falls State Park to get New York's 50 Rides 1 Nation photo. What a stunning park! The falls you can see in the attached picture, but the whole park was quite beautiful. If you're in the Finger Lakes area, definitely stop there.
    (Google Maps: https://maps.app.goo.gl/yvkFkHjk3e61yRmX8)

    The morning began sunny but turned on me not long after I left the park. First the temperature dropped 🥶, so I put on my rain gear jacket for another layer. Then it started to rain🌦️. Just a little, then it stopped for a while. Then a lot of rain 🌧️. Then a momma duck and her brood decided to cross the road in front of me🦆. Luckily, they scurried back into the bush as I roared around them. I hope the other traffic missed them. Then dry roads🛣️. Then a little rain☁️. Then road spray💦. Then....

    It's been like this all morning, but I'm not stopping for lunch because of the distance I want to make, which takes longer in the wet. So, I'm now at the Williamsport, PA, dealership hoping the weather will let up before too long 🤞.

    So long [for now], and thanks for all the fish! ✌️

    Day 110 mileage: 433.0 (total 25705.2)
    HD Dealership Challenge: 10 (total 239)
    50 Rides, 1 Nation: 1 (total 25)
    Read more