Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 113

    I Know What's At The End Of The 🌈!

    July 10, 2021 in the United States β‹… β›… 82 Β°F

    So, let me sum up yesterday: β˜€οΈβ˜οΈπŸŒ§οΈπŸ’¦πŸ’¦πŸ’¦πŸŒ¦οΈπŸ’¦πŸ’¦πŸ’¦βš‘β˜€οΈβ›ˆοΈπŸŒ§οΈβ˜οΈπŸ’¦πŸ’¦πŸ’¦πŸŒŒ. Right after my last post, I put on my rain jacket and spent the next 7 hours in torrential downpours, heavy road spray, and horrible traffic because of crashes and people fleeing D.C. on Friday evening. I finally got to my friend's home at 20:00 and was soaked even through my gear. That was a very long 12 hours on the bike 😩.

    There was an amazing thing that happened to me yesterday though, and I suspect I won't ever see it again. In between the downpours, the sun broke through and created a gorgeous rainbow. Right in front of me. It literally ended in the middle of the highway. I drove right though it. It was so cool. The cars in front of me were kicking up road spray, and when they passed through the rainbow, the spray became smaller rainbows. So, what's at the end of the rainbow? More rainbows πŸ˜‰. [Note: Rainbows are actually complete circles, which you can shoot yourself through after you've jumped out of a perfectly good airplane 😁.]

    When I got the my friends' house, they and the kids met me with such enthusiasm that I ended the long, tiring day with a smile. The three kids are amazing people and I hope to see them all again very soon. Thanks, Lumpy, Tammy, Connor, Hope, and Maximo for opening your home to me. (The two parents are pretty amazing, too πŸ˜‰.)

    This morning, after a nice Bob Evans breakfast with the Clan, I was on my way south...but so was everyone else in D.C. I guess not everyone was able to escape yesterday evening🀣. It took me an hour to go 30 miles--even without taking I-95 which was a parking lot--and at 10:38 I still had 507 miles to go 😭. But, the sun is sort of shining, I've seen a couple of cool cars, and it's a humid 90°F, so maybe the rain is done🀞🀞🀞.

    Note: Texas is still #1 for hanging out in the left lane. Ohio comes in a close second, but Virginia definitely rounds out the top three 😠.

    So long [for now], and thanks for all the fish! ✌️

    Day 112 mileage: 477.1 (total 26703.5)
    HD Dealership Challenge: 10 (total 260)
    Read more