Satellite
Mostra sulla mappa
  • Giorno 142

    Great Ride / Willie Towed! / Where Am I?

    8 agosto 2021, Stati Uniti ⋅ ☀️ 91 °F

    Yesterday was a fantastic ride! We finished Iron Mountain Road, then cut through Custer State Park. Then we turned up Needles Highway, which is just incredibly beautiful. George hasn't been here before, so it was a blast seeing his face when we stopped at the overlook just before threading the Eye of the Needle. We also stopped at Hole in the Wall, a small campsite and hiking area with an interesting cave. I thought it had something to do with Jesse James, and it does, just not this Hole in the Wall. That one is in Kaycee, WY. (More info: https://www.atlasobscura.com/places/hole-in-the…)

    After those twisty roads and seeing some big horn sheep on the road, we stopped in Hill City for a late lunch. Then it was back north to Sturgis by way of Nemo and Vanocker Canyon Road, my favorite!! Broad, sweeping turns between vertical rock walls with pungent evergreens carpeting the canyon floor. It's the best.

    We got into Sturgis and took George down Main Street where all the bikes park. With all the traffic, it's a pain on your clutch hand, but you have to do it at least once per rally 😉. I was planning to wave at Willie as we passed him--remember, I left my bike parked in town night before last--but when we got there, he was gone! As it turns out, I unknowingly parked in a zone that is no parking between 02:00 and 06:00, so he was towed 😳. I found him while the others took George to get his picture in front of the town sign. Ben took me to get Willie and helped me come up with the cash. Thank you!!!!

    Anyway, crisis resolved fairly quickly, so Ben and I met the gang back in town for a surprise Sturgis Virgin ceremony for George consisting of a little spanking by scantily clad young women. He was a great sport 🤣🤣!! Ben and I had to cut out after that to pack and figure out our routes for today, so we said our goodbyes there.

    We left the hotel at 10:00 this morning with Ben heading southwest back to California while Im heading due east towards Minnesota. I'm stopped somewhere in South Dakota hoping I can find gas stations every 100 miles.

    So long [for now], and thanks for all the fish! ✌️

    Day 141 mileage: 30.0 (total 34181.1)
    Leggi altro