Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 189

    The Tape Didn't Stay

    September 24, 2021 in the United States ⋅ ☀️ 79 °F

    Well, I was right. After I peeled off my rain gear yesterday, the heat came on with a vengeance. It was so hot that the duct tape holding my chaps together came unstuck. But I made it through New Mexico and into Texas without any significant issues.

    The time change had an effect on me last night. Arizona doesn't observe Daylight Savings like the other 47 states, so it was the same time as California (Pacific). New Mexico is in Mountain Time and east of El Paso Central begins. So, when I saw the sun going down at 19:00, I was still feeling like it was only 17:00 with plenty of more miles in me. But no sun + dark roads = big deer & bad news, so I stopped for the night in Odessa.

    Of course, I didn't get to sleep until after midnight because of the... do you still call it jet lag when you're on a motorcycle? ...time change, so when my alarm went off at 05:30, which felt like 03:30, I didn't get up. Instead, I left the hotel just after 07:00 and after using twice as much tape on my chaps. Luckily, 7 o'clock turned out to be the perfect time because the sun was just coming up.

    Today, I've been hitting more stops on my Motorcycle Grand Tour of Texas. I just left the Heart of Texas Museum in Brady and am now at the Geographical Center of Texas. Awesome!!

    So long [for now], and thanks for all the fish! ✌️

    Day 188 mileage: 733.5 (total 52391.7)
    Read more