Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 190

    Magical Morning

    September 25, 2021 in the United States ⋅ ☀️ 75 °F

    Yesterday, I finished 49 of the 50 stops on the Motorcycle Grand Tour of Texas! The last one is tracking down a guy riding to support diabetes. I'll find him later. I also hit the final HD in Texas, Waco HD 😁. Great day riding in beautiful weather along back roads with 70 mph limit. Yippee!

    I spent the night in Buffalo, Texas, which is east of Waco on I-45. I walked across the road to Anthony's Restaurant. They had a buffet, which I opted for before seeing it. Big mistake. Although the fried shrimp was good, the other items I had were middling to poor. There was nothing green, and everything else except the fish filet was fried. Worst of all, when I went back for more shrimp, there were cockroaches on the bar 😝. Nope.

    On the way back to the hotel, I stopped at the Dairy Queen for a Strawberry Cheesecake Blizzard. I took about 10 bites and realized I can't eat this sweet stuff anymore. Too bad because it was really good.

    I left this morning at 06:30 in the pitch dark, heading south on I-45 until I turned off onto Highway 7 towards Davy Crockett National Forest. As the dawning light began to emerge in front of me, it revealed lush fields laden with dew. Atop most laid a gentle mist just high enough to clear the grass yet low enough for sleepy cow eyes to peer above. Occasionally, the mist reached out to caress the road. Rolling through it left fine droplets on my face shield and sent a shiver through me. The warming sun finally broke the horizon about 07:15, and I welcomed its light on my path. It was a truly magical morning.

    The magic ended when I crossed the Sabine River into Louisiana and its horrible roads. I had to drop from 70 mph (80 😉) to 55 because of the potholes and rough patches...and the lower speed limit. Now I'm in some little town where everything is broken. The gas pumps won't take cards, Kentucky Fried Chicken is drive through only, and the Sonic bathroom is closed. Everyone's blinkers must be busted too because no one uses them here 🤦.

    So long [for now], and thanks for all the fish! ✌️

    Day 189 mileage: 599.3 (total 52991.0)
    Read more