Satellite
Show on map
  • 2022 Begins Tomorrow

    February 13, 2022 in the United States ⋅ 🌙 50 °F

    To dare is to lose one’s footing momentarily. To not dare is to lose oneself. – Søren Kierkegaard

    Tomorrow, I dare.

    I have never enjoyed staying in one place very long, and when I first began riding motorcycles 21 years ago, I quickly understood this thrilling new passion would also be a wonderful way to travel. But between work and family, I could never get away for more than a couple of weeks and typically only a few days at a time.

    However, after I retired from the Air Force in 2018 and returned to the US in late 2019 after a 15-month international backpacking trip, I was free to get on the motorcycle and go where ever I wanted, whenever I wanted. For a few months, anyway, until the pandemic hit. But despite COVID, I still made it from Texas to Sturgis to New York and back to Texas over 47 days. Then in 2021, I jumped off the deep end and rode 56,000 miles in 47 states over 198 days. When I finished the trip--happy but exhausted--I immediately began wondering how I could ever top it. Tomorrow, I try.

    Tomorrow, I will purposely lose my footing for about 225 days while I motorcycle around the US.

    Here is what I have challenged myself to accomplish in 2022:
    - Enjoy the ride!
    - No whining.
    - No crashing.
    - Visit as many friends as I can and make new friends along the way.
    - Complete Harley's Georgia and South Carolina 50 Rides 1 Nation Challenge (#47 and #48 of the 50).
    - Complete Harley's 10 Rides for 2022.
    - Visit all 50 locations in the 2022 Motorcycle Grand Tour of Texas.
    - Visit at least 502 Harley dealerships.
    - Complete Iron Butt Association's National Parks Tour Master Traveler Award Silver.
    - Attend all of Harley's Touring Rallies.
    - Complete the Hoka Hey Motorcycle Challenge in the allotted time (if I get in).
    - Get amazing tan lines from my gloves.

    I am a bundle of energy just thinking about tomorrow. Last year's ride taught me so much about myself and about my 2018 H-D Street Bob "Willie." I cannot wait to see what this year has in store for me!

    So long [for now], and thanks for all the fish! ✌️

    Starting mileage: 81,063
    HD Dealerships: 34 (total 34)
    50 Rides, 1 Nation: 0 (total 46 of 50)
    10 Rides for 2022: 0 (total 0 of 10)
    National Parks: 9 (total 9)
    MCGTTX Stops: 0 (total 0 of 50)
    Read more