Satellite
Show on map
  • Up Then Down to Daytona

    March 5, 2022 in the United States ⋅ ☀️ 73 °F

    I was fortunate enough to stay in the same hotel as Bob and Chief, so we had breakfast together this morning. I said a fond farewell to them at about 08:45 and went back to my room to make a phone call at 09:00. I had an interview with the Rider Relations Officer for the Hoka Hey Motorcycle Challenge. I was on the waiting list, but now it looks like I will be able to participate! Woohoo!!!

    (Read more here: https://hokaheychallenge.com/index.htm)

    I also called a long time friend Darryl this morning. We met in Iraq; he was the Chaplain. We stayed in touch, sort of, and when I found out he and his wife had moved to the Jacksonville area, I had hoped to see them while I was here. Unfortunately that didn't work out, but we had a very nice video chat.

    I left the hotel around noon headed north from St. Augustine back to Jacksonville to hit the dealerships. I spotted a Whataburger along the way, so lunch was delicious 😋. I took the non-interstate way to Daytona, swinging by the Hard Rock Hotel for a couple of pins before making my way to my campground near Daytona International Speedway 🏁. This place isn't as well set up as my campground in Sturgis, but it's okay. Probably won't stay here again, although I did meet some nice folks this evening, including a guy that was at Bitburg Air Base, Germany, the same time I was in 1992-1994. Crazy small world.

    So long [for now], and thanks for all the fish! ✌️

    Day 20 mileage: 185.6 (total 5089.0)
    HD Dealerships: 3 (total 114)
    National Parks: 0 (total 19 in 12 states)
    10 Rides for 2022: 0 (total 1 of 10)
    MCGTTX Stops: 0 (total 0 of 50)
    Read more