Satellite
Show on map
  • On The Splinter

    July 18, 2022 in the United States ⋅ ☀️ 82 °F

    Warning: my thoughts are all over the place today. Just go with it. 🤣😳✌️

    Today was great. No flat tires. Only one driver and one semi semi that wanted to be in my lane while I was in it.

    Since I'm soooo far ahead of schedule, I decided to take a run up Wisconsin's splinter. You know, that little thing jutting off its northeast corner into Lake Michigan. It's actually Door County or the Door Peninsula. And it's pronounced just like the thing you open to go in a room. Who would've thought? I figured it would be pronounced DOH-er, but I guess with a Wisconsin accent, it kind of is 🤣.

    I woke up to daylight and the garbage truck at 06:00. [Did I ever tell you that a garbage truck emptying a dumpster with a bang sounds a lot like some of the rockets blasts I've heard? 😳] Anyway, I jumped up, packed, and headed out to a few dealerships.

    I ran up the Lake Michigan coast to Sister Bay and Al Johnson's ... yawn ... goats on the roof ... yawn

    Styx is touring again! They'll be in Wisconsin Dells in March next year. I wonder if they're all still alive?

    I almost went to the National Mustard Museum in Madison. Mark your calendars for 22 August! https://mustardmuseum.com/
    I can't make this shit up!

    I really wanted off the bike, and after driving through all these little getaway towns, I decided to spend the next 3 nights at the KOA. Now I'm at the pool. All the kids left at exactly 19:00 and it doesn't close until 20:00 (30 minutes from now). Winning!

    Just before I got here, I stopped at the Wisconsin Motorcycle Memorial. It needs some serious attention, but the pavers are really cool. And sad.

    I'm at the pool now listening to 97.7 FM Rewind radio station '70s and early '80s. I don't want to leave 🤣.

    So long [for now], and thanks for all the fish! ✌️

    Day 129 mileage: 410.2 (total 2798.1 + 24568.7)
    HD Dealerships: 3 (total 252)
    National Parks: 0 (total 44 in 24 states)
    10 Rides for 2022: 0 (total 7 of 10)
    MCGTTX Stops: 0 (total 23 of 50)
    Read more