Satellite
Show on map
  • Lake Superior HOG Touring Rally Day 2

    July 27, 2022 in the United States ⋅ ⛅ 79 °F

    I'm off the rally route because I didn't go into Canada over the top of Lake Superior. Instead, I rode from Sault Ste Marie to Duluth today. It was a horrible start with the rain, but by lunch it cleared up. Except it didn't really. As soon as I hit the border of Wisconsin, a heavy rain storm hit me...and I had already take off my rain gear ☹️. I was soaked all the way through, and the temperature wasn't warm enough to dry me off (only 71°F and the wind was cooold!). I still stopped to get my Wisconsin park stamp, but didn't even look around the visitor center. 100 miles later and I still hadn't dried completely when I arrived at the Duluth campground...that I forgot to make a reservation at 🤦. So I wound up at the Radisson via HotWire. Oh well. The ground is soaked, it's way too cold to sleep at night, and there didn't appear to be a laundry room I could sleep in, so I'm better off in a hotel.

    So long [for now], and thanks for all the fish! ✌️

    Day 138 mileage: 506.0 (total 3934.9 + 24568.7)
    HD Dealerships: 0 (total 255)
    National Parks: 2 (total 46 in 26 states)
    10 Rides for 2022: 0 (total 7 of 10)
    MCGTTX Stops: 0 (total 23 of 50)
    Read more