Satellite
Show on map
  • Lake Superior HOG Touring Rally Day 1

    July 26, 2022 in the United States ⋅ ☀️ 70 °F

    What a great day for a rally ride!! The 4 of us--me, Pablo, Dale, and Chad--left Marquette and headed to Munising where we grabbed a dealership photo, then Pictured Rocks National Lakeshore Visitor Center for my passport stamp, and finally Grand Marais with its beautiful sandy beach along Lake Superior.

    After a cup of coffee, we headed south until we hit Lake Michigan, took the Mackinac Bridge to the Mitten*, and had lunch in Mackinaw City. [Why the bridge's name ends with a "c" instead of a "w" or vice versa, I have no clue.]

    After a nice lunch, we headed for Legs Inn and the Tunnel of Trees so the guys could get the Michigan 50 Rides 1 Nation photo. I did this loop last year, but it's so worth doing more than once. Legs Inn is so named because of the stove legs used to trim its roofline. (More info: http://www.legsinn.com/#modern-organic-thai)

    We ended the loop back in Mackinaw City at the HD, then the guys took the lead to head north on I-75. They're going into Canada with the rally over the top of Lake Superior, but I'm not, so I broke off for my hotel.

    After having gotten up at 05:30 this morning, I'm beat and already in bed. Tomorrow I head to Duluth where I'll meet up with the rally in two days. Unfortunately, tomorrow I'll probably be riding in the rain for a while ☹️.

    * Michigan has two parts called the Mitten--the largest chunk of the state that looks like a mitten, a.k.a. Lower Michigan--and the Upper Peninsula--the U.P. or Da Yoop, the part on top of Wisconsin. There's actually a third part, a little dangly bit above Lake Superior that looks like it should be part of Canada, but I haven't been there.

    So long [for now], and thanks for all the fish! ✌️

    Day 137 mileage: 364.4 (total 3428.9 + 24568.7)
    HD Dealerships: 2 (total 255)
    National Parks: 1 (total 45 in 25 states)
    10 Rides for 2022: 0 (total 7 of 10)
    MCGTTX Stops: 0 (total 23 of 50)
    Read more