Satellite
Show on map
  • Rain Delay

    October 7, 2022 in the United States ⋅ ☁️ 81 °F

    Last night I pitched my tent next to the bike under cover at the HD. At 04:00, it began to rain. "No problem," I thought, and I turned over to go back to sleep. Then I got water in my face. Turns out, the top of the "cover" wasn't solid, so I began packing up hoping it would stay a sprinkle until I could get to the gas station. I got lucky and was only slightly damp by the time I made it to real cover.

    The storm was moving slowly northeast, so I waited until after 09:00 to let it get well in front of me. Despite going under the speed limit and hanging.out at a Whataburger for a two-hour lunch, I caught the rain, so I decided to call it a day by cashing in some hotel points.

    I found a great historic hotel in old downtown McAllen (the one near Brownsville, not Dallas). They even let me park on the sidewalk by the front walk!

    Now I'm having a Netflix night and staying dry. Winning!

    So long [for now], and thanks for all the fish! ✌️

    Today's mileage: 159.5 😭 (total 24603.5 + 10552.0 Hoka Hey + 24568.7 pre-Hoka Hey)
    HD Dealerships: 1 (total 412)
    MCGTTX Stops: 0 (total 45 of 50)
    Read more