Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 3

    Day 3: Joplin to El Reno (OK City)

    February 28 in the United States ⋅ ☁️ 46 °F

    A bitterly cold ride today, all day. I started out before 0630 again, just before sunrise. Even with my heated jacket out of commission, the 27°F was bearable until I hit 70 mph and a wind chill of 5°F 🥶.

    My heated grips didn't feel warm, but they weren't ice cold either. My gloves couldn't get hot enough, but using cruise control to get my hands near the engine heat worked well.

    Around 1100, it warmed up to about 32°F 🤣. By then, anything not being warmed even slightly was completely numb.

    I finally hit one Ride To Eat stop that was open. Pops 66 in Arcadia OK, where I thawed out a bit. Good coffee, good food, and every flavor of soda pop you can imagine, most of which line the glass walls. Some Route 66 knickknacks and even gas to top of the tank. Well worth the time for a stop if you're nearby.

    Not long after Pops, I was at Cycle Gear getting my new heated jacket! Yay!! I was nice and toasty the rest of the uneventful day.

    Now I'm rerouting my Iron Butt route for tomorrow because of the massive wildfires northeast of Amarillo, exactly where I was planning to go through, of course.

    A little salad, a cup of TheraFlu, a hot shower, and a comfy bed will wrap up my night. Wish me luck tomorrow, particularly that I don't have to go through snow and/or rain🤞!

    So long [for now], and thanks for all the fish! ✌️

    HD Dealership Challenge: 7 (total 22)
    RTE-X-USA: 4 points (total 13)
    MCGTTX 2024 Stops: 0 (total 0 of 50)
    10 Rides for 2024: 0 (total 0 of 10)
    IBA Lap Around the 48 Stops: 0 (total 0 of 9)
    Read more