Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 1

    Porto

    April 4 in Portugal ⋅ ☁️ 17 °C

    Landed ✌️

    Finding my way to the city from the airport was super easy! And cheap, 1 Euro! For a 25 min journey. It was cramped but fine. Gotta remember how big my backpack is.

    Arrived I headed South, and happened to come across Av dos Aliados - a long stretch of pedestrianised area surrounded by amazing architecture.

    I was near to a brunch place I’d spotted days ago when looking at the map so decided to give that a go and yes! I was starving on the metro and these salty waffles for brunch were *chef kiss.

    Starting to flex my Portuguese but many folk still talk English back. But think I need to be less tired and more confident when speaking.

    Met Anna, who I met via Hostelworld, pre trip and bought her second hand poles. The Camino provides 😂

    Then I wandered until my room was ready. Picked up something from the bakery, tried again with the language and suprised an old man behind the counter who loved telling me what it was that I was actually buying - a Bolo de Berlin for future reference 🧡

    I’m staying 2 nights at the Poets Inn. My room is named after Jack London, with his writings from call of the wild on the walls - LOVE.

    Easy check in. No one but key codes but all good. Took a snooze, then headed out to try a Pastel de Bacalhau. Actually conversed in Portuguese - YAY. This made me happy. Got upsold a cheesy elephant as you do, said no to the traditional port that comes with it, because ew!

    Took this and went for a bimble and came across a place with gelato. Then realised they did hot chocolate like from the chocolat book/film so - gelato and hot chocolate was had.

    Dessert first for the win.

    This happened to be right next to the famous bookshop Livraria Lello - straight out of beauty and the beast territory. I’m gonna cry not buying a book from here!!

    Then just as I head back, possibly from slowing down, mindfully not pace (FYI), I notice my first Camino de Santiago sign on the floor, just a few yards from where I haphazardly chose to book 5 days ago.

    Going to take this a literal as well as figurative sign I am on the path I was meant to find, spiritually not literally, that is. Or maybe both, I guess 🤷🏼‍♀️
    Read more