Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 7

    Day 3 - 5 Elkford-Eureka (USA!)

    July 17, 2023 in the United States ⋅ ☀️ 26 °C

    Ride your ride, live your life. Setting off from Elkford I started with saddle sores. I made the schoolgirl error of changing my saddle before I set off from the UK for a “better” one. Turns out expensive does not equal better. Passing by Sparwood mining town and eating a massive brunch with a pancake side, (normally I’d never manage all that), I knew I was in a lot of trouble with my bottom. I am so frustrated because my legs are in good shape for this, but the sores are holding me back. After another 2000ft of climbing, mainly out of the saddle, on some rough mountain passes, we arrived in Fernie. I found a bike shop to replace my saddle and get replacement disc brakes. As common as mine are in the UK, the stock of misuma in the US is sparse. Mike the bike shop owner offered his back yard for us to camp in, saving us travelling any further. Leaving Fernie the next morning with my two amigos I met on route, we headed for Grassmere, through some real Canadian Rockies wilderness, no shops or towns, just tracks and mountains with rivers and streams. The streams were a welcome relief for the saddle sores! Another 2000+ft of climbing and into Grassmere we rolled, stopping at a beautiful lake to cowboy camp for the evening. The peace, quiet and tranquility was wonderful. I had my first go at hanging my food in a bear bag in the trees, 3rd time lucky! Up early and heading for the USA boarder and Eureka. It seemed funny queuing up on a bike with the cars and trucks to have my passport and visa checked. First stop, I had to call at the pharmacy for some dressings for my backside and then made the decision to have the afternoon and possibly tomorrow morning off the bike to recover. I felt bad leaving the friends I had made so far along the way, but I knew I needed rest and trying to keep up was not good for me or them. The same with life, this is my ride, I need to do it at my pace. Following someone else was never the plan, and I want to enjoy the journey. I’m not on anyone’s timescales but my own although I have loved the support and company of my new friends so far. Too often in life I have followed others and ended up not where I wanted to be. You only get one life, live it how you want to and enjoy the people you come across along the way. Hopefully I will catch up with my friends tomorrow on route, but one day at a time, with no pressure.Read more