Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 4

    Banff to British Columbia

    July 14, 2023 in Canada ⋅ ☀️ 23 °C

    The toughest two days ever on a bike! But I’m here, doing it, no longer on the sofa dreaming about it. Over the last two days I have cycled 170 km and climbed over 6800ft (2100mtrs) through the amazing Canadian Rockies. The scenery has been absolutely mind blowing,
    Setting off in Banff I was super excited but very anxious, I had a rough plan on where I wanted to be each day, but also decided that it will depend on the weather and how my legs felt. Cycling through the first part of the Rockies reminded me a lot of cycling in the Pyrenees. They say that everything you have done and experienced in life is a lesson for the moment you are in right now. The only thing that got me through the last few days and no doubt the rest of this trip will be my time spent in the Pyrenees, cycling with Chorley and now Los Bandidos cycling clubs. Pushing/cycling up some of the climbs in the Rockies was more challenging than I had anticipated. After only 30 miles or 50km with a fully loaded mountain bike is hard, and not to be under estimated. Memories of loved ones and times spent with them is keeping me going.
    Read more