Satellite
Afficher sur la carte
  • Jour 47

    Santa Fe

    26 août 2023, États Unis ⋅ ⛅ 25 °C

    That’s all for this adventure. I happily made it to Santa
    Fe, New Mexico. The last 20 miles felt like an eternity. Facing the dreaded headwinds slowing me down to a snails pace. As I checked into the hotel I was again bowled over by the kindness of the staff. On hearing of my journey they upgraded my room and gave me free drinks tokens for the bar! Sat in the plaza in Santa Fe listening to a live band, I was reflecting back on the last six weeks in the saddle with a huge celebratiory drink, shared with new friends. There have been many amazing highs and some melancholy lows. As I say a sad good by to the Rockies I will definitely miss their magical beauty. One thing I have learnt is that missing something or someone doesn’t mean you made the wrong decision in letting them go, it doesn’t mean that deep down you are confused or unsure, or that those feeling were misplaced. It means what you experienced was real, so it makes sense to miss it. But the sadness does eventually pass and hurt does eventually heal, new places and things will take their place and someday soon your heart will become full again. If you ever get chance, go alone, walk, cycle or travel alone, just for a little while, then go do it. Learn who you are when the world isn’t demanding from you. A friend said to me “most people go to the cinema or for a meal alone, but not you!” For me the Rocky mountains were calling from a young age. Most people only know how to be, if someone is stood beside them, never getting the opportunity to walk alone, even for a little while, never realising that it is actually a gift that can change your life. Calmness is mastery and self control is strength. As I head into my next chapter, I will be taking the Pasific trail highway up Route 1. Starting in Las Vagas after meeting my daughter and heading north, up the coast to Seattle. Learning to surf and enjoying all the delights that coastal life has to offer. This next chapter has more to do with what I am choosing to grow, rather than what I am letting go of. I have learnt to embrace change and loosen up my sense of identity, allowing myself to walk a new path, wholeheartedly embracing the present and moving on. I am a Bad Ass, that cycled solo through America. I met some people that will remain life long friends, places that will remain in my memories for ever and realised that you will never change other peoples opinions of you. You can only control your own life by each of your actions. Hopefully I have inspired you to get out, be active, venture into the unknown, it is really not as scary you believe it to be. We are all stronger than we think, if only we give ourselves the chance to prove it.En savoir plus