Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 12

    San Francisco, CA

    September 16, 2023 in the United States ⋅ ☀️ 19 °C

    Week 2: Facing fears. Monterey, Carmel, Big Sue, Surfing and San Francisco. The sea has always been a massive fear of mine, fear of the unknown the deep blue depths and fish! So one thing I promised myself I’d do if I managed to complete the GDMBR was go to surf school. Turning up on a very cold and dull day, meeting my instructor, Antonio, I was terrified. He clearly had no clue how scared I was when he handed me my wet suit. I kept telling myself to feel the fear, saying to myself I have camped alone in the mountains as bear food for the last few weeks, why does this bother you? After the briefest of instruction on the beach and a bit of a warm up, with my board under my arm I followed Antonio into the cold sea. My adrenaline was pumping through me so with the wet suit I didn’t feel the cold, just the strength of the waves crashing against my body pushing me back to shore. After paddling on my board out for what seemed like miles, I sat up turned around and got in line for the wave. The first one totally wiped me out, my feet and board tipping me over like a paper bag on the crest. Struggling to get my head above the water. Keep calm, breath, it’s only water, you can do this I kept telling myself. After an hour I was tired but had managed to catch a few waves, riding them on my tummy on the board to the beach. By day three I was kneeling up on the board, (apparently good for a beginner). Facing my fears head on and not letting them get the better of me I managed to do it, and can’t wait to have another go when I get back to a Spain. Route 1 was closed north due to a land slide so I went south to Carmel and the Big Sur afterwards being a tourist, bike riding, shopping and eating pasta. After a boat trip to see dolphins and humpbacked whales, my next stop was San Francisco. Big city time. The hippy quarter being my favourite part and of course time to hit the town with the sparkly dress and have a dance and let my hair down!Read more