Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 5

    LA, Malibu and Santa Barbara

    September 9, 2023 in the United States ⋅ ☀️ 27 °C

    Week 1. LA, Malibu and Piano bars in Santa Barbara! After collecting the RV and driving to the coast the first place I passed was Los Angeles. Wow the beaches were golden, vast and deserted. It was like a scene from Bay watch but with no body around. I stayed for an ice cream and decided to keep moving north. Malibu was a favourite drink of mine when I was younger so it jumped out at me on the map. As with the drink, I was not disappointed, finding a spot right on the beach to park for the night I watched the sunset with a Malibu in hand. In the morning after a bike ride in the Malibu Mountains, the ranger moved me along. I headed north to Santa Barbara and finding a site out of town where I could stay for a few days. Venturing into the stunning down town area I sat at a little street cafe and found myself in the middle of a wedding, sat with the family celebrating a couple I had never met before, wishing them well for the future I moved on. Getting an ice cream and window shopping the sun set as I wandered through the little streets. Piano sounds were drawing me closer, I found The Red Piano bar, and what an evening, another party to join and more new friends met. No videos of my dancing this time. The next day I met them for the day to explore and drink nice wine. They were a group of people from all over the world on a business trip. A trip to Santa Barbara wouldn’t be complete without a sunset catamaran trip. Watching the sun set this time from the sea after an exciting first week on the road. Tomorrow I head to Monterey.Read more