Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 3

    Champagne & Cathedrals, Part 1

    August 17, 2023 in France ⋅ ⛅ 79 °F

    Last night’s arrival into Reims felt quite late. Finally arrived at my rented apartment around 10pm. I pretty much collapsed at that point after about 36 hours of travel. But today was spent indulging in the finest Reims has to offer! My first stop was Champagne Ruinart - a wonderful tour les by Amandine. Smart, funny, a fantastic guide. Amazingly, and for the only time on this trip, the group was all Americans. After leaving Ruinart, I grabbed a quick lunch - the French can make a sandwich! Baguette, lettuce, tomato, a bit of tuna, and sliced hard boiled egg! Amazing! I toured the St Remi Basilica. Massive and beautiful! From there I visited Veuve Clicquot! Is there anything more inviting that that beautiful yellow?? I bought a stupid and heavy souvenir, but I love it. I had planned to visit Pommery, but the champagne was too heavy, so I returned to the apartment before making my 2mile walk to GH Mumm (pronounced Moom). Good tour, but excellent tasting! The Mumm RSRV is fantastic! I quickly made my way down to Notre Dame de Reims - a cathedral larger than Notre Dame de Paris and where many of France’s king were coronated. I collapsed back at the apartment after a quick run to the grocery store! More tomorrow!Read more