Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 4

    Champagne & Cathedrals, Part 2

    August 18, 2023 in France ⋅ ☁️ 86 °F

    I decided to let myself sleep an extra hour and take a later train to Epernay. It was a lovely ride through historic vineyards of the finest grapes in the world. After arriving, I strolled down the splendid Avenue du Champagne! What a dream! First stop was Champagne Mercier, with their famous train ride through the caves. The tour was supposed to last two hours but instead took half the time, so I stopped in the garden at Perrier-Jouet to try the famous Belle Epoque! After finishing my glass, I made the less than two minute walk to the biggest house, Moët & Chandon. Lovely tour and net nice people from the Netherlands and a lady from just outside of Baltimore! Back up the street to Champagne Venoge. I was the only person on the tour, but my wonderful Italian guide Antonela made it a wonderful experience! She gave me lots of extra activities to do as well! Feeling pleasantly buzzed, I made a quick stop at the Museum of Champagne before strolling down to Eglise Notre Dame de Epernay. After lighting a candle and taking a quick look around it was back to the Avenue and my final stop at Champagne Boizel. I enjoyed my tasting in the company of a lovely Australian couple. By this point I’d eaten little more than a few slices of baguette so I remedied the problem with a bag of Doritos from the train station vending machine, before boarding my train back to Reims! What a day!!Read more