Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 5

    Too many trains!

    August 19, 2023 in France ⋅ ☀️ 88 °F

    Today was a day of travel! Closed up the apartment and grabbed an Uber to get me and my massive luggage to the train station. It is guaranteed that in France whatever train you need to be on is down stairs, across, and upstairs. Always. And your train car will also be the farthest away. Got to Paris only to find myself at the tail end of the platform and rushing to catch the metro to get from Gare de l’Est to Gare Montparnasse. I made it, but the walk through the station was exhausting and hot! Long tunnels, a million stairs… Made it to my seat only to have my nose start bleeding for no known reason. Fortunately it stopped quickly and I settled in for what was supposed to be a 4-hour trip. Constant delays on this trip meant we arrived an hour late into a very hot and humid Bayonne. I stumbled to my hotel where I was met with the news that I had 2 reservations - one of which I didn’t make. Not sure what happened there? I never left the hotel again that evening. Just packed and repacked, enjoyed the air conditioning and the lovely rainfall shower head. Took a nap. Packed some more. Bayonne is a noisy city on a Saturday night - but I was tired and slept well… Not many photos today - too much train time!Read more