Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 11

    Day 5 - Pamplona to Puente La Reina

    August 25, 2023 in Spain ⋅ ⛅ 66 °F

    Favorite day so far! And honestly, I think there’s a couple reasons for that. I intentionally slowed down, I really enjoyed the weather, I took some nice breaks, I actually had breakfast to fuel my hike, and I just enjoyed myself. I can feel myself getting stronger. I struggled on the hills far less today than I have for the past few days. I actually passed people at times (not that that’s the goal - just used to everyone passing me!)
    It took forever to get out of Pamplona - maybe about an hour? Almost 4K from my hostel to the city line. After enjoying a lovely breakfast, I made my way towards the Alto del Perdón, or The Hill of Forgiveness. I’d been dreading the climb through the morning - questioning my own abilities. I shouldn’t have! I made it up with far greater ease than I could have a few days ago. The descent, on the other hand, was murder. Last night I was reading accounts of people blowing out knees and stuff like that. It’s a steep slope covered entirely in loose rock. I don’t know how anyone did it without poles. At which point, I should mention, Christmas MVP 2019 goes out to my Mom for supplying me with days poles! They’ve been a lifesaver!
    I made my way to the town of Uterga where I enjoyed a cold drink with new Camino friends before making the final 7k push into Puente la Reina. Since yesterday there have been reports of fires in the area, and all day I watched helicopters with water buckets fly over me to the scene of the fire. Don’t know if it’s been extinguished, but I’m not seeing any smoke like I did earlier. As I emerged off the trail into the town I pulled out Google maps to look for my hostel only to find it, not exaggerating, 10 feet in front of me. I checked in - first person in my 4 bunk room - showered, did my laundry, and enjoyed my first ever tinto de verano. After a quick rest in my bunk, I had a wonderful dinner with 5 other women all traveling solo! Now I’m resting in the towel for I created within my bunk (just me and an older French gentleman in here tonight.) Time to call it a night. Don’t need an early start tomorrow - it’ll be cool and overcast, and I only have 20k to cover. I really am starting to enjoy this!
    Read more