Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 14

    Bruny Island - Windy Lights

    May 27, 2023 in Australia ⋅ 🌬 14 °C

    After filling our tummies, we drove further south to Cape Bruny Lighthouse which isn't in use anymore but for history reasons. We went all the way up to the top and had an amazing view. We actually learned that lots of lighthouse keepers got very sick because of the metal they used back in the day. It's called the Mad-Hatters-Disease and made these people literally go crazy. Horrible!
    Anyway, we had lunch at the Bruny Hotel where I used my included drunk to get one of the famous Apple Cherry Ciders. It had 8%, and hell, I felt that! I'm not used to alcohol at all and it made me really tipsy. Shandy (basically Radler) is what I usually drink when I want something alcoholic, but that doesn't go over 5%. So it was really tough on me.
    I couldn't really relax and wait for the alcohol to wear off, as we went to a chocolate tasting directly after that. Luckily, it was only three different flavors and everyone was done after 5min, so we went back to the coach.
    We drove back to the hotel and for the first time in this trip, we got a bit time to spend for ourselves in which we didn't only have time to hop under the shower and get ready for dinner.
    So Lana and I decided to explore Hobarts city centre a bit. I actually found a quite nice magnet for my Mom to bring home and so I was happy. However, the city centre was nearly deserted. At 5pm... No wonder people don't go out and about anymore - if nothing is open, why the hassle?
    So we were basically just wandering around, trying to find our way back to the hotel. We finally managed to and had some time to rest our feet.
    Then we went straight to the Crowne Plaza hotel to have a site inspection (very fancy place, not really for our usual STA Travel client) and dinner. The bread and entree were very good but they really butchered it with the main. For me as a vegetarian it was really just Spaghetti with tomato sauce. And don't get me wrong: I like that, it's completely fine as a dish. But I hate when someone tries to make it seem fancy, but it really isn't. And the meatlovers dish wasn't better: It was a naked chicken leg with brown mushrooms and three frozen peas on it. It looked really poor. Nothing like we had the last couple of nights. Dessert was good again though. So, tough crowd, I reckon.
    Tomorrow I could finally have a bit of a sleep in, as Lana and I would be in Group 2, officially starting our day at 9.10am. That means, I can sleep until 8am. Lucky me!
    Read more