Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 68

    Foodrun #2

    December 30, 2015 in New Zealand ⋅ 🌙 20 °C

    In the morning back down from the "Goat Pass Hut" to the road. And then I needed to hitchhike to "Arthur's Pass Village" to see what the shop there has to offer and ask for more tracks! But both end up a bit unsatisfying, the shop had insane prices and the tracks might be a bit to much for now. But I will come back!
    So I went on to hich to "Greymouth" and lucky circumstances got me there with the first car which stopped!
    At the Hostel I got a hint of another track not far away with some good views along the coastline down to "Mt Cook"! So I set off to do quickly the "Croesus Track", just a overnight walk! Indeed it had some very nice views but I couldn't get my head really cleared...
    Back to town I printed the next 26pages of maps for the next section(s) south. All took as bit longer as I expected, one more night in town and finally I got my bag full of food packed again and ready to go on!
    I hope I can get quickly back to "Arthur's Pass"

    Am Morgen ging es noch runter von der “Goat Pass Hut“ und zurück zur Straße. Ein kurzer stop im “Arthur's Pass Village" um wegen essen ausschau zu halten und um nach anderen Wanderungen zu fragen. Jedoch war beides eher ein mässiger Erfolg, viel zu teuer und die Wanderwege sind etwas zu viel für den Moment. Weiter ging es also nach “Greymouth“ um den Essensvorrat aufzufüllen. Glückliche Umstände brachten mich auch direkt mit dem ersten Auto in die Stadt!
    Im Hostel habe ich dann noch einen Tip von einem Track ganz in der Nähe bekommen mit einem guten Blick über die Küste bis ganz nach Süden zum “Mt Cook“. Tatsächlich war der Blick gut, jedoch war der bevorstehen Teil des Te Araroa immer im Kopf...
    Zurück in “Greymouth“ wurden noch die nächsten 26Karten ausgedruckt. Alles hat noch etwas länger gedauert, sodass ich noch eine Nacht hier bleiben muss.
    Hoffentlich geht es morgen dann schnell weiter in den Süden!
    Read more