Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 11

    Nájera to Santo Domingo de la Calzada

    April 12 in Spain ⋅ ☀️ 55 °F

    149 miles walked. 351 to go.

    Do you miss carbs? Or, do you crave carbs but wish you could just gorge yourself without any added weight consequences? Have I got a plan for you! All you have to do is walk an average of 18 miles a day in the sweltering heat on the Camino de Santiago and you can eat whatever carbs you desire, and sweat out whatever beverages you fancy, without consequence!*

    Seriously though, I’m eating ALL THE THINGS and simply just have to in order to replenish my body with energy to be able to either recover from my walk, or prepare to conquer the next day. So, I’ve had more bread in the past two weeks than I’ve consumed in the past year. The hunger pangs are real, and this whole siesta time for businesses closing up shop in the afternoon and restaurants not opening until 8:30 is making me crazy! Imma bout to strap a loaf of bread to my backpack and open up shop on the Camino for those of us who need a carb fix.

    But that’s been the yeast of my problems (pun very much intended). Through training over the last several months and these first couple weeks of Camino walking, I’ve worn out my insoles. I thankfully found a sporting good store last night and bought new insoles and the difference is night and day. I think I may actually be able to pull off the 351 miles left!

    This is the point in the trip where everyone is showing off their blisters to one another. I’ve seen some gnarly ones… one the size of a silver dollar on the heel of someone. Another where the blister was long and wrapped itself around the top of the big toe and down between and below the next toe. Another had so many bandaids of his feet, you could barely see any skin showing. Ouch! I’m not able show off any battle wounds, cause I’ve got none. I’m holding up. For now.

    Carb loaded. Vino blanco filled. Sleep deprived. Till tomorrow…

    * Assuming some sense of moderation, but you know, whatever. You do you. You do the Way, your way.
    Read more