Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 5

    A Day in the Old Town

    March 3, 2023 in Spain ⋅ 🌙 46 °F

    After a strenuous workout with Fernando this morning I headed back to the apartment to plan the days activities. Priority 1 was ordering paella for Saturday pickup at the local market. This is to be my meal Saturday evening. But first a light lunch of coffee and an almond croissant at the local bakery. Yes the morning's exercise demanded a bit of a carbo load to help get to the market.
    Crossing the street I entered the municipal market building and walked up to the second floor. The market place was filled with the lunch crowd. Sounds of talk amongst the clinking wine glasses and grilled fished welcomed me.
    I headed over to the little paella restaurant and was greeted by a friendly proprietor. "Hola señor!" I said. "Buenos días" he replied. I told him I wanted to order his famous paella for Saturday. His grin enlarged displaying a mouthful of broad pearly whites savoring the "famous" paella reference.
    "Necesito una reservacion?" I asked.
    "No. No es necesario" he replied.
    "Y a que hora paso para llevar?" I asked wanting to know when to come by to pick up the meal. And was told between 1:30-1:45 but not later.
    "Gracias. Quieres mi nombre?" I asked.
    " No yo me acordaré de ti." he said. Probably thinking I can't forget the tall distinguish baldheaded gentleman ordering my paella. I thanked him with a smile.

    Back into the market and down the stairs to the street I walked south or down as Marbella is built on the coastal hillsides so it is easy to navigate. Up hill is north away from the seashore and of course down is towards the Mediterranean. East or west requires a learning curve that in remembering landmarks as the Old Town or "Ciudad Antigua" is known is a puzzle of meandering cobble stone streets. On my first venture out a few days ago I ended up walking in a circle only to have made little progress finding myself where I had begun.

    In no hurry enjoying the narrow passages with a small 35mm digital SONY camera in hand I wondered about. The camera is a perfect traveling companion lent to me by a best friend and ex-Abbott colleague. Thank you Rob. No heavy camera strap around my neck slowing me down. But it gets lost in my big hands my long fingers inadvertently touching the wrong buttons when trying to frame a shot. Although I did manage to shoot quite a number of photos tomorrow I will use the 3 pounder Nikon instead.

    I reached the seashore promenade and walked west as I wanted to find a seafood restaurant "Las Olas" pointed out by Mar. Its right on the water below the promenade with an extensive menu. I hope to get the fish espetos. This is a local method of skewering 12 sardines or a single larger fish on a spike and grilling it next to a hot pile of leña. It is a cooking method local to this region of Spain.

    Returning home after a long walk I watch a little Spanish television news. Nothing new here though. Young woman stabbed to death by her boyfriend. A construction company Ferrovial's move to Holland seeking lower tax rates. The move controversial because it's taking place ahead of Spanish elections and the company has been accused of not paying any tax in 2020. And another story of a football team owner caught on camera with is mistress. Nothing new in the "news."

    At 8 pm I headed over to a local restaurant La Polaca but is was crowded. So I left and headed towards that little narrow passage El Estrecho in the Old Town. It too was crowded but I managed to get a table in back. I ordered a beer (0.0% alcohol) and asked for a recommendation from the tapas menu. Three dishes ordered, country style meatballs (three small and delicious) with papas fritas, grilled pimiento salad and a plate of grilled anchovies. Not bad at all. Small but filling dishes topped off with an espreso.

    The streets filled with Friday night revelers, couples and families as I made my way back to the apartment. Wide awake from the espresso I watched a Netflix show but by midnight my droopy eyelids were interested in sleep.

    Tomorrow the paella and more sightseeing!
    Read more