Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 4

    Becoming a Local

    March 2, 2023 in Spain ⋅ 🌙 50 °F

    What a lovely seaside town Marbella is. Bright sunny blue skies fresh air cool Mediterranean breeze.
    I can imagine ancient Roman soldiers around a beach campfire grilling sardines, the day's catch washing it all down with their daily allotment of wine. Wondering about family back home in Rome. Saying to themselves 'Rome is nice but all those politicians, the taxes, and the dusty lanes. España is the life for me." finally falling asleep on the sand seashore below star filled skies.
    Last night I couldn't keep my eyes open past ten pm. Even the Spaniards common use of foul language on TV couldn't keep me awake. So to bed I went hoping for an early start but didn't wake up until almost 8 am this morning. I made coffee, ate my daily banana and a croissant. Then read email and caught up on the US stock market only to receive my property tax bill but not letting it get me down.
    At 9:45 I walked over to the gym next door for my workout as I've hired a trainer for the duration of my stay here. Fernando is his name and after smiles and a handshake to work we got.
    It's a nice local gym no foreigners (except me) that was busy already. Clean, well equipped, and convenient. The training price is good a lot cheaper than in the US. In fact, I am finding prices much cheaper here than back home. The Euro is slightly higher than the dollar but not noticeable for either devices or groceries.
    I was to meet Mar the AirB&B manager who yesterday offered to give m a tour of Marbella to acquaint myself with the layout. At the specified time of 1 pm she was downstairs waiting. We began walking and talking. Mar is from the province of Leon in northern Spain but has lived around the world, China, Germany, and various parts of Spain but is now settles with he husband in Marbella. Her husband is responsible of the development and market introduction of automobiles internationally, VW, SEAT in the Chinese market. Now introducing a Chinese auto to the Spanish market.
    We first stopped in the fish market. Locally caught and fresh. Many odd the stalls not only sold fish but also will prepare fried or grill for you while you wait. I enjoy fish but cleaning, preparing and properly cooking has always been a challenge. So I will return. She also pointed out a little restaurant that makes paella but alerted me to reserve in advance as it sells out quickly. That's my plan for Saturday's dinner. So I will order tomorrow, pick it up Saturday for my evening meal her in the apartment. I then plain to walk to the waterfront promenade and walk those calories off. Maybe spot a Roman soldier in the distance.
    Next we walked through the beautiful old town pointing out the best restaurants where locals not tourists eat. Plaza de Olivas, Plaza de Naranjos, Plaza la Victoria (chocolate churros there) and the finest of streets not wider than 5 feet where her favorite and I must say hidden restaurant are located. One in particular Restaurant del Estrecho. Or Restaurant of the Narrow.
    From there we walked down to the beachfront walking through Marbella's "central" park adorned with Salvador Dalí sculptures.
    Restaurant filled streets Mar pointing out her favorites. We strolled south along the promenade and stopped looking across the Mediterranean Sea. Wow I could see the Rock of Gibraltar and the coast of Africa. How cool! Remembering those somewhat daydreamy days in elementary school geography class learning about these distant places.
    We continued on stopping for a capuchino at a small cafe run by an Italian couple. It was now lunchtime in Spain 2 pm. As we sat talking Mar's husband who was walking by spotted us and stopped to say hello. But couldn't stay as he was on his lunch break and needed to get back home for work. How come we don't work like that? European norms sure are different from America.
    Shortly thereafter we too got up and started walking back toward the apartment. Mar herself had to go take care of one of her 5 units that would have renters arriving tomorrow. We parted ways and I started toward home. But the aromas from the many establishments told my stomach not yet. So...
    I went in search of a tapas place she had highlighted. Oh but could not find it. So I headed to Central Park and retraced my steps. Finding it noting the outdoor tables were taken I went inside and found a table.
    I order three tapas dishes and a coke zero. Yeah no wine for me. Of the three tapas the cod croquettes were to die for. What savory bites for the soul. And all for 15 Euros. Going back there for certain.
    I love tapas. Start with one or two and continue ordering as the palate desires. Tonite I still fill good so no dinner. But tomorrow I plan to walk to Puerto Banus 5 miles south along the seashore promenade as I can't let this good eating ruin my well toned, athletic physique ;)!
    Read more