Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 24

    Sevilla

    March 22, 2023 in Spain ⋅ ☀️ 55 °F

    If I were blindfolded, the ambient temperature around 82 degrees and placed in this historic center I would have guessed I was in Havana. These streets are familiar, comforting. This is my heritage. The culture of my youth. The culture I carry in the recesses of my mind. Now they tug at me as the winding streets and buildings speak as I gaze at them. I could live here.
    Havana’s architecture is the same of course the only difference is that the buildings are now so decrepit that at least one collapses daily.
    Sevilla was founded on the Guadalquivir River a busy waterway that allowed access to the Atlantic Ocean and beyond. Likely the port that Columbus used on his voyage to the New World.
    It was also very likely that my Spanish ancestors lived and walked these streets in the 17th and 18th centuries prior to their own departure is search of new lives in Cuba.
    This I know for certain as my great great grandfather Enrique was a general in the Spanish Armada. He was stationed in Veracruz, Mexico and Santiago, Cuba. After being called back to Spain and after his passing his wife Adela took the children back to Cuba.
    And now I walk these streets. Every step meaningful.
    The place I am staying at is Calle San Isidoro 12. It was most likely a single family home with large entry doors to allow the carriage and horse and household goods into the open inner courtyard. The rooms around the courtyard and in the second floor where the living quarters now converted into individual apartments. My apartment on the second floor is two stories with living area and kitchen on the “first” and bedroom and bathroom on the second.
    It’s a reminder of my great aunt’s home in Havana now the Venezuelan Embassy with its large inner courtyard surrounded by the living quarters. Although I only recall a second floor at the front of the mansion. I know that because there was an elevator.
    The church bells are ringing now reminding me of the time now 11 am. My tour has been moved to 12:30. It starts at the cathedral just around the corner. I will add additional pictures to this entry so check back. And start another entry after today’s tour.
    Read more