Satelita
Pokaż na mapie
  • Dzień 23

    When Google Maps is Invaluable

    21 marca 2023, Hiszpania ⋅ ⛅ 64 °F

    The train’s punctual arrival into Sevilla was welcoming. It entered the station at 6:25 pm. Along the way it made a few stops letting passengers off while new travelers boarded. The last stop was Cordoba. During the transit I kept my iPhone off due to a diminished battery with no outlets on the train! Heresy! My iPhone was vital as it had to get me to the rental B&B in the historic city center about a 1.5 miles distant from the station b
    While waiting to disembark I switched on the phone. Pulling up google maps and the saved address as I stepped on the platform. Now ensued my hurried pace to complete this trek before the phone would go dark. In that case without a charged phone I would have way to contact the host, follow directions to the address or get into the building.
    Adventures come in all sizes. Some planned others surprises. Both satisfy the thrill of travel. Live on the edge but disallow fear to overtake rational thinking. Focus and relegate the the mind’s doubting voice to the rear. Successful mission is paramount.
    As I walked through wide boulevards busy with motos, cars and stand up scooters the architecture slowly changed. Just as suddenly beyond one corner as the traffic disappeared I entered old Sevilla. Another place. A labyrinth of narrow cobblestone streets with nary a sidewalk now 1000 years old.
    Marbella was a maze. Sevilla is a another dimension. A 5000 piece puzzle.
    Carefully I listened to Google directions while at the same time avoiding a scooter crossing my path or noiselessly approaching from behind. Stepping into the tiny streets looking left and right.
    In Spain, street names are up on the sides of buildings. So it is important to see those as Google’s attempt at Spanish is subpar.
    I noted battery life quickly depleting and still many meters to go. Will I make it? I had to view the map knowing that it would draw critical power.
    This race to the finish line or battery was the use of direction but also calling a phone number the only was to buzz the entry door. Medieval city, modern convenience. Sixty meters to go. I’m going to make it? Yes I did!
    Now time for tapas.
    Czytaj więcej