Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 17

    Quarantine

    November 17, 2023 in Antigua and Barbuda ⋅ 🌬 28 °C

    Hot hot night and a restless sleep. Woke up, had some coffee but didn’t feel like food. We had to get the main sail off to replace the batten, so we documented it and then took it off. I was feeling really weak! I waited beside the sail and the grass, and chatted with a local guy named Leroy (who paints boats). We had a long conversation about Rastafarians and what it means to him — Spirituality, love, being the best version you can be.
    Brian was working on the boat and came over when Zimbabwe around selling clams. He bought 2.5lbs for $20.
    I cooked up some eggs for lunch and then decided I was just to weak and needed to sleep. I laid in the helms cabin for a few hours, dozing on and off, catching a nice cross breeze while Brian took a conference call and created a beautiful pastel.
    While I was still laying down a public health officer came by as he had heard that I had Covid (word travels fast) and informed Brian that I need to stay in the boat except the bathrooms on shore for 5days. Gladly, my sore throat has receded and I am just exhausted.
    We cooked up the clams and determined that they didn’t smell good or we didn’t cook them correctly, so threw them overboard and cooked up some steak.
    We took a nice evening stroll, mask in hand and had a great conversation with John and Lena from Two Captains (and Dodger the dog), stopped at an open air restaurant (with a lone table at the bottom of stairs away from everyone) and had some water (San Pellegrino and regular) before heading back to the boat for the night.
    In the middle of the night it started raining and all the hatches were open, so we scrambled to close everything up.
    Read more