Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 46

    Horseback Riding

    February 28 in Saint Lucia ⋅ ☀️ 27 °C

    Today I went to “yoga” again and Nikki joined me. I made our normal breakfast of yogurt, granola and fruit in the morning.
    I was able to wrap up work early and we decided to go for a walk to Gros Islet. We walked through the streets, looking for places to do art. It was great to be in a neighborhood with locals. We went to the waterfront beach and we were hot so opted to strip down to underwear and go for a swim, as one of the local kids were doing next to a wharf. We swam and then sat to dry off. In the distance I noticed a guy had a horse and was running it, and the horse was rolling in the sand. I said to Brian I would get to see it. I waved as he went by but the jockey didn’t stop. Next time he brought her out to the water for a swim and I went out too. Eventually we started to chat and he races this 11 year old Arabian, that is only 12 hands high. He offer to let me ride (bareback, in my thongs and bra), so I said sure! What a thrill to walk and trot with this horse, bareback, in the water.
    Later, on the walk back, we met a guy who was French (earlier we were trying to learn some Pigeon/ Creole language …. How are you: Sac-a-fait; I am great: March bien) so Brian enjoyed chatting with him.
    Back to the boat after a long walk home through various neighborhoods. Time for a shower and then supper and bed.
    Read more