Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 72

    Cluebra

    March 25 in Puerto Rico ⋅ ☀️ 29 °C

    On my night watch (with Brian sleeping in the pilothouse), there was a large cruise ship that passed closeby. Later in the morning a freighter was on a collision course with us and Brian had me radio them (Carribean Force) to ask for instruction. Although I have the VHF course and have used it occasionally I don’t have much experience, so it was good practice.
    When we started to get closer to land I looked back at the fishing line that Brian had put out at Dawn and realized that something bigger then the cedar plug was trailing behind the boat. It was a Barracuda, but had died in the line and we didn’t keep it since we didn’t know how long it had been dead and what water it was caught in. There is a disease called Ciguatera, that is found in tropical fish life and is horrible for humans affecting the nervous system.
    Once we arrive in Culebra and anchored, we got some food and then headed for bed as we were both tired. Brian slept till nearly 6pm, but I was up a couple hours earlier and finally finished reading my book!! Then I called Kimmy ~ miss my friends.
    The alternator is not working to recharge the batteries and the generator is only sub par so we are limiting the amount of energy consumption, which means Starlink is off unless I am working.
    We weren’t up long before hitting the bed again. Brian stayed up to do some art but I was out by 8:30pm (and slept till 7am).
    Read more